Switzerland has four national languages: German, French, Italian and Romansh.

The largest part of the population speaks German (approx. 60%). French (approx. 20%) is spoken in western Switzerland (Romandie). Italian is spoken in Ticino and in small parts of the canton of Grisons. This accounts for about 10% of the population. Only about 0.5% of the Swiss population speak Romansh. This is thus the least represented of the four national languages and is spoken exclusively in parts of the canton of Graubünden.

Multilingualism is a great identifying feature of Switzerland. Most people in Switzerland speak at least one to two of the national languages, as well as English.

Scroll to Top