The canton of Obwalden has seven Communities: Alpnach, Engelberg, Giswil, Kerns, Lungern, Sachseln and Sarnen. The municipality of Engelberg is spatially separated from the other six municipalities in the Sarneraatal by the canton of Nidwalden, making it an exclave. The municipalities have a strong autonomy in the fulfillment of their tasks, but work closely together.

Below you will find the links to the municipal websites:

Alpnach municipality

Engelberg municipality 

Community Giswil 

Community Kerns 

Community Lungern 

Community Sachseln 

Community Sarnen 

Scroll to Top