Switzerland

What the abbreviation CH stands for, what languages people speak in Switzerland, how many foreigners live here - you can find out all this and much more in the questions and answers on the subject of Switzerland.

More about Switzerland

Politics
Canton Obwalden

Questions

01. Welche Sprachen sprechen die Menschen in der Schweiz?

Switzerland has four national languages: German, French, Italian and Romansh.

The largest part of the population speaks German (approx. 60%). French (approx. 20%) is spoken in western Switzerland (Romandie). Italian is spoken in Ticino and in small parts of the canton of Grisons. This accounts for about 10% of the population. Only about 0.5% of the Swiss population speak Romansh. This is thus the least represented of the four national languages and is spoken exclusively in parts of the canton of Graubünden.

Multilingualism is a great identifying feature of Switzerland. Most people in Switzerland speak at least one to two of the national languages, as well as English.

02. Weshalb lernt man in der Deutschschweiz Hochdeutsch?

In German-speaking Switzerland, people speak dialect - one of numerous, sometimes very different dialects. While dialect is spoken in everyday life, High German is the official written and official language. High German is therefore learned in school. Newspapers, magazines and most books are written in High German. There is relatively little Swiss literature written in any of the Swiss dialects.

03. Welche Religionen gibt es in der Schweiz?

The Christianity ist die am weitesten verbreitete Religion im Land, vornehmlich vertreten durch die römisch-katholische und die protestantische Kirche. In den einzelnen Kantonen dominiert jeweils eine der beiden Konfessionen.

In der Schweiz werden aber auch andere Religionen praktiziert: Beispielsweise der Islam und das Judentum, aber auch andere Religionsgemeinschaften wie der Hinduismus oder der Buddhismus. Ausserdem gibt es auch viele Menschen, die keiner Konfession angehören.

In Switzerland, church and state are separate. The Right to freedom of belief, conscience and culture is firmly anchored in the Federal Constitution. Every person therefore has the right to freely decide whether or not to be a believer and which religion to practice. One is also allowed to change one's faith or religion, to change one's beliefs express oneself freely and live them out. This applies to individuals as well as to faith communities. 

04. Welche Umgangsformen sind in der Schweiz verbreitet?

Just as in other countries, Switzerland has numerous common rules of conduct and manners. Knowing them makes living together with Swiss people much easier.

Punctuality: It is expected that you show up on time for a meeting. This applies equally to the professional world, public authorities and private events. If you notice that you are going to be late, call ahead and let them know.

Encounter: If you walk past someone in a small community, you say hello - even if you don't know the person. In cities, this happens very rarely.

Greeting: In German-speaking Switzerland, people shake hands in greeting. It is considered polite to look your counterpart in the eye. Among friends, people sometimes give each other three kisses on the cheeks (left, right and then left again - or vice versa). But be careful: This does not apply in every case. It is best to find out what is customary in your own region.

Visit: Most Swiss people do not like spontaneous visits to their homes. It is best to call ahead and ask if a visit is wanted now. Before entering the apartment, one inquires whether one should take off the shoes.

Invitation: If you're invited to dinner, it's a popular custom to bring a small gift - such as a bottle of wine, chocolates or flowers. But be careful: Not all flowers are suitable (red roses only for partners, white asters are common at funerals).

At the table: Before you start eating together, you wish each other a good appetite. If wine is drunk, the glass is raised at the beginning. You look each other in the eye, clink glasses and say "Cheers" or "Cheers".

Conversation on the phone: When you call someone, you first greet them and say their name. Only then does the actual conversation begin.

These behaviors can vary significantly by language region or social group. If you are unsure about a situation, it is best to ask. This relaxes the situation and you get to talk to other people.

05. Sind Mann und Frau in der Schweiz gleichgestellt?

Die Gleichstellung von Frau und Mann ist ein wichtiges
Grundrecht der Rechtsgleichheit.

Equal rights for men and women have been guaranteed since 1981 in 
Art. 8 para. 3 of the Swiss Federal Constitution anchored:
"Man and woman have equal rights. The law provides for their equality in law and in fact, especially in the family, education and work. Man and woman are entitled to equal pay for work of equal value."

The Equality Act enables women and men to defend themselves against direct and indirect discrimination - in the family, in working life or in cases of sexual harassment in the workplace.

According to the law, the spouse who takes care of the household, looks after the children or helps the other in his or her profession or trade is entitled to "an appropriate amount at his or her free disposal" from the other spouse's income or assets. The Federal Act on Equality between Women and Men (Equality Act GIG) can be found at here.

en_USEN
Scroll to Top

Suisse

Que signifie l'abréviation CH, quelles langues les gens parlent en Suisse, combien d'étrangers vivent ici - vous apprendrez tout cela et bien plus encore dans les questions et réponses sur la Suisse.

En savoir plus sur la Suisse

Politique
Canton d'Obwald

Questions

01. Welche Sprachen sprechen die Menschen in der Schweiz?

La Suisse a quatre langues nationales : L'allemand, le français, l'italien et le romanche.

La majeure partie de la population parle allemand (env. 60%). Le français (env. 20%) est parlé en Suisse romande. L'italien est parlé au Tessin et dans de petites parties du canton des Grisons. Cela représente environ 10% de la population. Seuls environ 0,5% de la population suisse parlent le romanche. C'est donc la moins représentée des quatre langues nationales et elle n'est parlée que dans certaines parties du canton des Grisons.

Le multilinguisme est une grande caractéristique d'identification de la Suisse. La plupart des gens en Suisse parlent au moins une à deux des langues nationales, ainsi que l'anglais.

02. Weshalb lernt man in der Deutschschweiz Hochdeutsch?

En Suisse alémanique, les gens parlent le dialecte - l'un des nombreux dialectes, parfois très différents. Alors que le dialecte est parlé au quotidien, l'allemand standard est la langue officielle et écrite. C'est pourquoi on apprend l'allemand standard à l'école. Les journaux, les revues et la plupart des livres sont écrits en allemand standard. La littérature suisse rédigée dans l'un des dialectes suisses est relativement rare.

03. Welche Religionen gibt es in der Schweiz?

Le site Christianisme ist die am weitesten verbreitete Religion im Land, vornehmlich vertreten durch die römisch-katholische und die protestantische Kirche. In den einzelnen Kantonen dominiert jeweils eine der beiden Konfessionen.

In der Schweiz werden aber auch andere Religionen praktiziert: Beispielsweise der Islam und das Judentum, aber auch andere Religionsgemeinschaften wie der Hinduismus oder der Buddhismus. Ausserdem gibt es auch viele Menschen, die keiner Konfession angehören.

En Suisse, l'Église et l'État sont séparés. Le site Droit à la liberté de croyance, de conscience et de culture est fermement ancré dans la Constitution fédérale. Chaque personne a donc le droit de décider librement si elle veut être croyante et quelle religion elle veut pratiquer ou non. On a aussi le droit de changer de croyance ou de religion, de modifier ses convictions ou de se convertir. s'exprimer librement et les vivre pleinement. Cela vaut aussi bien pour les individus que pour les communautés religieuses. 

04. Welche Umgangsformen sind in der Schweiz verbreitet?

Tout comme dans d'autres pays, il existe en Suisse de nombreux les règles de comportement et de politesse courantes. Les connaître facilite considérablement la cohabitation avec les Suisses.

Ponctualité : On attend de vous que vous arriviez à l'heure à un rendez-vous. Cela vaut aussi bien pour le monde professionnel que pour les administrations et les événements privés. Si l'on s'aperçoit que l'on va être en retard, on appelle avant et on le fait savoir.

rencontre : Lorsque l'on passe devant quelqu'un dans une petite commune, on se salue, même si l'on ne connaît pas la personne. Dans les villes, cela n'arrive que très rarement.

Accueil : En Suisse alémanique, les gens se donnent la main droite pour se saluer. Il est considéré comme poli de regarder son interlocuteur dans les yeux. Entre amis, on se fait parfois trois bises sur les joues (à gauche, à droite, puis à nouveau à gauche - ou inversement). Mais attention : Cela ne s'applique pas dans tous les cas. Le mieux est de se renseigner sur ce qui se fait dans sa propre région.

visite : La plupart des Suisses n'aiment pas les visites spontanées à leur domicile. Il est préférable d'appeler à l'avance et de demander si une visite est souhaitée maintenant. Avant d'entrer dans l'appartement, on se renseigne pour savoir si l'on doit enlever ses chaussures.

Invitation : Lorsque l'on est invité à un repas, il est de coutume d'apporter un petit cadeau, par exemple une bouteille de vin, du chocolat ou des fleurs. Mais attention : Toutes les fleurs ne sont pas appropriées (les roses rouges sont réservées aux partenaires, les asters blancs sont courants aux enterrements).

A table : Avant de commencer à manger ensemble, on se souhaite un bon appétit. Si l'on boit du vin, on commence par lever son verre. On se regarde dans les yeux, on trinque et on dit "santé" ou "à la vôtre".

Conversation au téléphone : Lorsque l'on appelle quelqu'un, on commence par saluer la personne et par dire son nom. Ce n'est qu'ensuite que la conversation proprement dite commence.

Ces comportements peuvent varier considérablement selon les régions linguistiques ou les groupes sociaux. Si vous n'êtes pas sûr(e) de vous dans une situation, le mieux est de demander. Cela permet de détendre la situation et d'engager la conversation avec d'autres personnes.

05. Sind Mann und Frau in der Schweiz gleichgestellt?

Die Gleichstellung von Frau und Mann ist ein wichtiges
Grundrecht der Rechtsgleichheit.

L'égalité des droits entre hommes et femmes est inscrite dans la Constitution depuis 1981. 
Art. 8, al. 3 de la Constitution fédérale suisse est ancré :
"L'homme et la femme sont égaux en droit. La loi veille à leur égalité de droit et de fait, notamment dans la famille, la formation et le travail. L'homme et la femme ont droit à un salaire égal pour un travail de valeur égale".

La loi sur l'égalité permet aux femmes et aux hommes de se défendre contre les discriminations directes et indirectes - au sein de la famille, dans la vie professionnelle ou en cas de harcèlement sexuel sur le lieu de travail.

Selon la loi, l'époux qui s'occupe du ménage, des enfants ou qui aide l'autre dans sa profession ou son entreprise a droit à "un montant approprié dont il peut disposer librement" sur le revenu ou la fortune de l'autre époux. La loi fédérale sur l'égalité entre femmes et hommes (loi sur l'égalité LEG) se trouve ici.

fr_FRFR
Retour haut de page