Health insurance

Who is covered by health insurance, how you can save on premiums and what costs accident insurance covers - you can find out all this and more here.

Questions:

01. Who and what is insured in a health insurance company?

Every person living in Switzerland must take out compulsory insurance with a health insurance company. You pay a monthly contribution, a so-called premium. With the health insurance you are insured for costs in case of illness, maternity or an accident. This means that you only have to pay a small part of the costs for visits to the doctor, hospital stays or certain medicines. The rest is paid by the health insurance.

Mandatory is the so-called Basic insurance. Health insurance companies have an obligation to accept every person, regardless of age and state of health, into the basic insurance plan. The insured persons are free to choose their health insurance company.

All are included in the basic insurance for the Same power insured. This includes, for example, treatment in a doctor's office and hospital, medically prescribed medication and laboratory tests, psychotherapy and physiotherapy, check-ups during pregnancy, vaccinations, health examinations for children and partial costs for emergency transport. Not covered by the basic insurance are ordinary dental treatments.

You can voluntary Supplementary insurance and have to pay a higher premium for it. This pays for additional services such as dental treatment or the comfort of a double or single room in hospital.

The Accident insurance is included in the health insurance. However, employed persons are already insured against accidents through their employer (see also question 6). If this is the case for you, you can ask the health insurance company to remove the accident insurance from the policy. This will reduce the premium.

Here you will find a list of all basic insurance benefits.

The Health Guide Switzerland helps migrants to find their way around the Swiss healthcare system. This is available in 18 different languages.

Here you will find more information about health insurance

02. What is the cost of health insurance?

The health insurance costs on average about 3,700 francs per year.

The cost of health insurance is paid monthly.

Although the basic insurance includes the same benefits everywhere, you pay different premiums depending on the health insurance company. It is therefore worthwhile to inform yourself about the different premiums and to include this in the selection of a health insurance company.

You can find a premium overview here.

03. What do I have to pay myself, what does the health insurance pay?

In addition to the premium, you must also pay part of the treatment costs yourself. The participation is called Franchise. You can choose the amount of the deductible yourself. The lowest deductible is 300 francs, the highest 2500 francs. This means: With the highest deductible rate, you have to pay all medical expenses up to an amount of 2500 francs per year yourself. In return, the premium is lower. With a lower deductible (e.g. 300 francs) the monthly premiums are higher. However, the costs are covered if they exceed 300 francs. A high deductible rate (and low premiums) is only worthwhile if you are not very ill.

If your annual medical expenses exceed your deductible, you must pay an additional 10 percent toward the cost, called the Deductible. According to the law, the deductible amounts to a maximum of 700 francs per year.

The cost of Pregnancy and birth is covered in full by the health insurance fund from the outset.

04. What do I need to do to get health insurance to pay?

After your Doctor's visit you will receive an invoice. You must pay this yourself. Together with the invoice, you will receive a copy of the invoice (= reclaim voucher or invoice copy). You send this copy to your health insurance company. You will then receive - if the amount exceeds the deductible rate - 90 percent of it paid into the bank or post office account you specified.

The Hospital bill is either sent to your home or to the health insurance company. In most cases, the bill is paid directly by the health insurance company. The health insurance company or the hospital will send you a separate invoice for any costs that you have to bear (deductible, contribution to meals).

Also, certain medications prescribed by a physician Medication are paid by the health insurance. Either you receive the medication directly after showing the health insurance card and without paying. Or you pay for the medication yourself and send the invoice and prescription to the health insurance company later for reimbursement.

05. How can I save on health insurance costs?

Health insurance premiums can put a strain on the household budget. There are several ways to reduce the cost of premiums.

Through a high franchise: With a high deductible (maximum 2500 francs), the premium drops sharply. Attention: However, this is only worthwhile if you are not very ill and do not have to go to the doctor very often.

Through a affordable health insurance: Compare the premiums and benefits of health insurance companies with each other, for example here.

Through cantonal premium reductions: People with a low income are entitled to the cantonal premium reduction. This means that the canton pays part of the health insurance premiums. If you are entitled to a reduction, you will be informed automatically by the responsible office (cantonal social security office). You must submit a form for this in due time every year. In the canton of Obwalden you can find this under www.ow.ch more info. You can also contact us directly by mail to praemienverbilligung(at)ow.ch turn.

06. Who and what is covered by accident insurance?.

Accident insurance covers the costs of medical treatment following an accident. It also pays a daily allowance (wage replacement) in the event of temporary incapacity to work or pension benefits in the event of permanent incapacity and death.

All employees in Switzerland Employees are automatically insured against accidents by the employer.

  • You work eight hours or more per week with an employer: then you are insured against occupational accidents and against so-called non-occupational accidents (accidents on the way to work and during leisure time).
  • You work less than eight hours per week with an employer: then you are only insured against occupational accidents and against accidents on the way to work. For accidents in your free time (e.g. in the household) you must take out accident insurance with the health insurance company.
  • Unemployed persons, who are entitled to unemployment benefits are compulsorily insured.

Not insured are persons who are not gainfully employed, for example housewives and househusbands, children, students, pensioners or unemployed persons who have lost their jobs. These persons are required to take out accident insurance with the health insurance company.

en_USEN
Scroll to Top

Assurance maladie

Qui est assuré par une caisse-maladie, comment économiser des primes et quels sont les coûts pris en charge par une assurance-accidents - vous trouverez ici toutes ces informations et bien d'autres encore.

questions :

01. Qui et quoi est assuré par une caisse de maladie?

Toute personne résidant en Suisse doit obligatoirement s'assurer auprès d'une caisse maladie. Vous payez chaque mois une cotisation, appelée prime. Avec la caisse maladie, vous êtes assuré pour les frais en cas de maladie, de maternité ou d'accident. Cela signifie que vous ne devez payer qu'une petite partie des frais de consultation médicale, d'hospitalisation ou de certains médicaments. Le reste est payé par la caisse maladie.

Obligatoirement, ce que l'on appelle la Assurance de base. Les caisses maladie ont une obligation d'affiliation, c'est-à-dire qu'elles doivent accepter toute personne dans l'assurance de base, indépendamment de son âge et de son état de santé. Les assurés peuvent choisir librement leur caisse maladie.

Tous sont couverts par l'assurance de base pour les même performance sont assurés. En font partie, par exemple, le traitement au cabinet médical et à l'hôpital, les médicaments et les examens de laboratoire prescrits par le médecin, la psychothérapie et la physiothérapie, les examens de contrôle pendant la grossesse, les vaccinations, les examens de santé pour les enfants ainsi que les frais partiels en cas de transport d'urgence. Les traitements dentaires ordinaires ne sont pas couverts par l'assurance de base.

Vous pouvez volontaire un Assurance complémentaire et doivent payer une prime plus élevée. Cela permet de payer des prestations supplémentaires, comme par exemple des soins dentaires ou le confort d'une chambre à deux ou à un lit à l'hôpital.

Le site Assurance accident est incluse dans l'assurance maladie. Les personnes qui travaillent sont toutefois déjà assurées contre les accidents par leur employeur (voir aussi question 6). Si c'est votre cas, vous pouvez demander à la caisse maladie d'exclure l'assurance accidents de son assurance. Cela permet de faire baisser la prime.

Ici vous trouverez une liste de toutes les prestations de l'assurance de base.

Le site Guide de santé pour la Suisse aide les migrants à s'orienter dans le système de santé suisse. Celui-ci est disponible en 18 langues différentes.

Ici vous trouverez plus d'informations sur l'assurance maladie

02. Combien coûte une mutuelle ? .

L'assurance maladie coûte en moyenne environ 3 700 francs par an.

Les frais d'assurance maladie sont payés mensuellement.

Bien que les mêmes prestations soient incluses partout dans l'assurance de base, les primes varient d'une caisse maladie à l'autre. Il vaut donc la peine de s'informer sur les différentes primes et d'en tenir compte dans le choix d'une caisse maladie.

Vous trouverez un aperçu des primes ici.

03. Que dois-je payer moi-même, que paie la caisse maladie?

En plus de la prime, vous devez également payer vous-même une partie des frais de traitement. Cette participation s'appelle Franchise. Vous pouvez choisir vous-même le montant de la franchise. La franchise la plus basse est de 300 francs, la plus élevée de 2500 francs. Cela signifie qu'avec la franchise la plus élevée, vous devez payer vous-même tous les frais médicaux jusqu'à un montant de 2500 francs par an. En revanche, la prime est moins élevée. Avec une franchise plus basse (par exemple 300 francs), les primes mensuelles sont plus élevées. En revanche, les frais sont déjà pris en charge s'ils dépassent 300 francs. Une franchise élevée (et des primes basses) n'est intéressante que si vous êtes peu malade.

Si les frais médicaux annuels dépassent la franchise, vous devez payer 10 % supplémentaires sur les frais, c'est ce qu'on appelle la Franchise. Selon la loi, la quote-part s'élève au maximum à 700 francs par an.

Les frais de Grossesse et accouchement est entièrement pris en charge par la caisse de maladie dès le début.

04. Que dois-je faire pour que la caisse de maladie paie ?

Après votre Visite chez le médecin vous recevrez une facture. Vous devez la payer vous-même. Avec la facture, vous recevez une copie de la facture (= justificatif de remboursement ou copie de la facture). Vous envoyez cette copie à votre caisse maladie. Vous recevrez ensuite - si le montant dépasse la franchise - 90 % de ce montant versé sur le compte bancaire ou postal que vous avez indiqué.

Le site Facture d'hôpital est envoyée soit à votre domicile, soit à la caisse de maladie. La plupart du temps, la facture est payée directement par la caisse de maladie. Pour les éventuels frais que vous devez prendre en charge (quote-part, contribution aux frais de repas), la caisse maladie ou l'hôpital vous envoie une facture séparée.

Certains médicaments prescrits par le médecin Médicaments sont remboursés par la caisse d'assurance maladie. Soit vous recevez directement le médicament sur présentation de la carte d'assurance maladie, sans avoir à le payer. Soit vous payez vous-même le médicament et envoyez plus tard la facture et l'ordonnance à la caisse d'assurance maladie pour remboursement.

05. Comment puis-je économiser des frais de mutuelle ?

Les primes d'assurance maladie peuvent peser lourd dans le budget des ménages. Il existe différentes possibilités de réduire le coût des primes.

Grâce à une franchise élevée : Avec une franchise élevée (2500 francs maximum), la prime diminue fortement. Attention ! Mais cela n'en vaut la peine que si vous êtes peu malade et que vous devez peu vous rendre chez le médecin.

Grâce à une caisse maladie à prix avantageux : Comparez les primes et les prestations des caisses maladie entre elles, par exemple ici.

Par les réductions de primes cantonales : Les personnes à faible revenu ont droit à la réduction cantonale des primes. Cela signifie que le canton paie une partie des primes d'assurance maladie. Si vous avez droit à une réduction, vous en serez automatiquement informé par le service compétent (l'établissement d'assurances sociales du canton). Vous devez pour cela envoyer chaque année un formulaire dans le délai imparti. Dans le canton d'Obwald, vous trouverez à cet effet www.ow.ch plus d'informations. Vous pouvez également vous inscrire directement par mail à praemienverbilligung(at)ow.ch (réduction des primes) se tourner.

06. Qui et que couvre l'assurance-accidents ?

L'assurance-accidents prend en charge les frais de traitement médical après un accident. En outre, elle verse une indemnité journalière (remplacement du salaire) en cas d'incapacité de travail temporaire ou des prestations sous forme de rente en cas d'incapacité de travail permanente et en cas de décès.

Tous les employés en Suisse Travailleurs et travailleuses sont automatiquement assurés contre les accidents par leur employeur.

  • Vous travaillez huit heures ou plus par semaine auprès d'un employeur : vous êtes alors assuré(e) contre les accidents professionnels et contre les accidents dits non professionnels (accidents sur le chemin du travail et pendant les loisirs).
  • Vous travaillez moins de huit heures par semaine chez un employeur : vous n'êtes alors assuré que contre les accidents professionnels et les accidents sur le chemin du travail. Pour les accidents survenant pendant les loisirs (par exemple à la maison), vous devez souscrire une assurance-accidents auprès de votre caisse maladie.
  • Personnes au chômage, qui ont droit à des indemnités de chômage sont obligatoirement assurés.

Non assuré sont des personnes qui n'exercent pas d'activité professionnelle, par exemple les femmes et les hommes au foyer, les enfants, les étudiants, les retraités ou les chômeurs en fin de droits. Ces personnes doivent obligatoirement souscrire une assurance accident auprès de leur caisse maladie.

fr_FRFR
Retour haut de page