Residence permit / family reunion

Which residence permits are available for foreigners in Switzerland, which of your family members you can have join you in Switzerland, and what a biometric foreigner's identity card is - you can find answers to these and other questions in the subchapter Residence Permit / Family Reunion.

Further information about residence permit / family reunification

Naturalization

Questions:

01. What residence permit do I need if I am an EU/EFTA citizen?

The following countries are considered EU/EFTA countries:

EU-17: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden

EU-8: Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia

EU-2: Bulgaria, Romania

EFTA: Fürstentum Liechtenstein, Norwegen, Island, Schweiz

If you come from an EU-17/EU-8/EFTA country, you may stay in Switzerland for three months without a permit. You may also work here, but you must report this. The registration procedure for short-term employment can be found at the Website of the State Secretariat for Migration.
If you are staying in Switzerland for longer than three months, you must register with your municipality of residence and apply for a residence permit. For this you need a valid identity card, an employment contract, a copy of the rental contract and a passport photo.

The following residence permits are available for EU/EFTA citizens:

L EU/EFTA permit (short-term residence permit): The short stay permit is valid for stays of less than one year. If you can prove that you have a job in Switzerland lasting between three months and one year, you will receive a short-term residence permit for a period of validity corresponding to that of the employment contract. This can be renewed after one year. You can also obtain an L permit if you are looking for a job. However, you will not be entitled to social security.

Permit B EU/EFTA (residence permit): The B permit is valid for five years for EU/EFTA citizens who can prove that they have a job for an indefinite period or for at least one year. The permit can then be extended for another five years if all conditions are met. Persons without a job can obtain a residence permit if they have sufficient financial means and adequate health and accident insurance.

C EU/EFTA permit (permanent residence permit): The settlement permit is granted after a stay of five or ten years in Switzerland. This right of residence is unlimited and is not subject to any conditions. A settlement permit after five years is normally granted to persons from the EU-17 states (except Cyprus and Malta) and the EFTA states.

Identity card Ci EU/EFTA (residence permit with gainful employment): This residence permit concerns spouses of officials of intergovernmental organizations and of members of foreign representations and their children up to the age of 25. It allows them to stay in Switzerland for the duration of the family member's employment.

G EU/EFTA permit (cross-border commuter permit): Cross-border commuters are persons who live in the foreign border zone and work within the neighboring border zone of Switzerland. If you are from one of the EU-25 or EFTA countries, you can live anywhere in the EU/EFTA and work anywhere in Switzerland. You only have to return to your place of residence on a weekly basis. The G EU/EFTA permit is valid for five years, provided your employment contract is unlimited or valid for more than one year. If your employment contract is valid for less than one year, the period of validity of the cross-border commuter permit depends on the employment contract.

If you have a Extension of your residence permit, the application can be submitted to the municipality of residence at the earliest three months and at the latest two weeks before the expiry of the residence permit.

For information on EU/EFTA residence permits, please contact here. Responsible in the canton of Obwalden is the Migration Department:

Migration department
Office for Employment Obwalden
St. Antonistrasse 4
6061 Sarnen
Phone: 041 666 66 70
Fax: 041 666 66 75
Email: migration(at)ow.ch
Opening hours: Mon-Fri 08.00-11.45 and 13.30 to 17.00

You can find more information about residence permits here.
Here you will find the residence application for non-employed persons from EU/EFTA countries.

02. Welche Aufenthaltsbewilligung benötige ich als Bürgerin oder Bürger eines Drittstaats?

L permit (short stay permit)The short stay permit is valid for stays of the duration of less than one year. If you can prove that you have a job in Switzerland lasting between three months and one year, you will be granted a short-term residence permit for a period of validity corresponding to that of the employment contract. However, the Federal Council has set an annual maximum number of short-term residence permits for third-country nationals.

Permit B (residence permit): This residence permit is issued to third-country nationals who are staying in Switzerland for a longer period of time for a specific purpose, with or without gainful employment. The B permit for third-country nationals is usually issued for the first time on one year limited in time. There are annual fixed maximum numbers in the issuance of this pass. However, the B passes, once issued, are normally renewed annually if there are no reasons against renewal.

C permit (settlement permit): The settlement permit for third-country nationals is usually issued after a stay of ten years in Switzerland issued. This right of residence is unlimited and not subject to any conditions.

Ci permit (residence permit with gainful employment): This residence permit concerns spouses of officials of intergovernmental organizations and of members of foreign representations and their children up to the age of 25. It allows them to stay in Switzerland for the duration of the work assignment of the family member.

The Migration Department is responsible for residence permits in the canton of Obwalden:

Migration department
Office for Employment Obwalden
St. Antonistrasse 4
6061 Sarnen
Phone: 041 666 66 70
Fax: 041 666 66 75
Email: migration(at)ow.ch
Opening hours: Mon-Fri 08.00-11.45 and 13.30 to 17.00

You can find more information about residence permits here.
Here you will find the residence application for non-employed persons from third countries.

03. What residence permits are available for asylum seekers and refugees?

Permit F (provisionally admitted foreigners): Einen Ausweis F erhalten Personen, die aus der Schweiz weggewiesen wurden, wobei die Wegweisung sich aber als unzulässig (Verstoss gegen Völkerrecht), unzumutbar (wegen konkreter Gefährdung der Person) oder unmöglich (vollzugstechnische Gründe) erwiesen hat. Der Ausweis gilt für 12 Monate und kann vom Aufenthaltskanton um jeweils 12 Monate verlängert werden. Die kantonalen Behörden können vorläufig aufgenommenen Personen eine Bewilligung zur Erwerbstätigkeit erteilen.

Identity card N (asylum seekers)An N permit is issued to persons who have applied for asylum in Switzerland and are in the asylum procedure. During the asylum procedure they basically have a right of presence in Switzerland. Under certain circumstances, they may be allowed to engage in gainful employment.

Identity card S (persons in need of protection)This permit entitles the holder to stay temporarily in Switzerland, but neither to cross the border nor to return to Switzerland. If persons with an S permit take up a job or change jobs, they must obtain a permit for this purpose. They must present this permit to the competent cantonal authority two weeks before the expiry date without being asked to do so. A change of address must be reported to the competent authority within eight days. This pass is not proof of the holder's identity.

Recognized refugees either receive asylum and thus a residence permit (B permit) or they are provisionally admitted as a recognized refugee and receive an F permit (provisionally admitted refugee). Recognized refugees with a B permit as well as with an F permit can stay and work in Switzerland permanently.

For more information on these residence permits, please contact here or also here.
You can get an overview of the residence categories in the asylum area here.

04. Which family members may I bring to Switzerland if I am from an EU/EFTA state?

Wenn Sie EU/EFTA-Bürgerin oder EU/EFTA-Bürger sind und über eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung oder Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligung für die Schweiz verfügen, dürfen folgende Ihrer Familienmitglieder in die Schweiz ziehen:

  • Spouse or partner in a registered partnership.
  • Children and grandchildren (including those of your spouse) up to the age of 21. Older children and grandchildren may join you if you are responsible for their maintenance.
  • Parents and grandparents (including those of your spouse) if you are responsible for their support.


If you are in education (school, studies), you may only have your wife or husband and dependent children join you in Switzerland.

Here you will find the application for family reunification, which you have to fill out in case of family reunification.

Weitere Informationen zum Thema Familiennachzug gibt es here.

05. Welche Familienangehörigen darf ich in die Schweiz holen, wenn ich Bürgerin oder Bürger eines Drittstaates bin?

Drittstaatsangehörige mit einer Niederlassungsbewilligung für die Schweiz (Ausweis C):

  • Spouse
  • Partner in registered partnership
  • Children up to the age of 18

Third-country nationals with a residence permit (permit B):

  • No right to family reunification
  • but can be approved if the conditions for family reunification are met (for details see question 6)

For more information on family reunification here.

06. What conditions must be met for me to bring my family members to Switzerland?

In order for you to be able to have your family members join you in Switzerland, the following conditions must be met:

  • Your Apartment must be appropriate. Thus, it must correspond to the local conditions and be large enough for the whole family.
  • If you are an employee, your financial circumstances are not relevant. However, if you are self-employed or non-employed, you must be able to prove that you are financially responsible for the Maintenance of the family members can come up.
  • If you are a third-country national or a national of a third country, you must be able to prove that your stay is consolidated ist. Dies bedeutet, dass Sie angemessen integriert und seit mindestens 12 Monaten erwerbstätig sein sollten.

In order to obtain a residence permit, the family members you wish to have join you in Switzerland must, among other things, meet the following requirements Documents can show:

  • a valid identity card or passport,
  • a visa in the case of persons who are subject to visa requirements,
  • a confirmation from the home country about the family relationship to the family member already living in Switzerland,
  • a confirmation that the maintenance of the family members joining them is taken care of, if the person already living in Switzerland is liable to pay maintenance for these family members,
  • Copy of the rental contract in Obwalden

You can find more information here

The Wanted for family reunification in the canton of Obwalden must be submitted to the Migration Department at the Office of Employment:

Migration department
Office for Employment Obwalden
St. Antonistrasse 4
6061 Sarnen
Phone: 041 666 66 70
Fax: 041 666 66 75
E-mail: migration(at)ow.ch
Opening hours: Mon-Fri 08.00-11.45 and 13.30 to 17.00.

The Registration after moving to Switzerland is done by personal audition at the municipality of residence.

07. What is a biometric foreigner identity card?

The biometric foreigner's ID card is a credit card-sized ID card. Two digital fingerprints and the facial image are stored on a non-visible chip in the ID card.

The following persons will receive a biometric alien's identity card if their old identity card has to be renewed due to expiry or data changes:

  • Third-country nationals,
  • Third-country family members of Swiss citizens,
  • Third-country family members of EU/EFTA nationals,
  • Nationals of states that are member states of the EU but not party to the FMPA (Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons).

A biometric ID card is issued for the following categories of foreigners:

  • Short stay permit (L)
  • Residence permit (B)
  • Settlement Permit (C)

For information on the biometric foreigner's identity card from the State Secretariat for Migration, please contact here.

Information on additional travel documents for foreign persons can be found at here.

en_USEN
Scroll to Top

Autorisation de séjour / Regroupement familial

Quelles sont les autorisations de séjour pour les étrangers en Suisse, quels sont les membres de votre famille que vous pouvez faire venir en Suisse et qu'est-ce qu'un livret pour étrangers biométrique - vous trouverez les réponses à ces questions et à d'autres dans le sous-chapitre Autorisation de séjour / Regroupement familial.

En savoir plus sur l'autorisation de séjour / le regroupement familial

Naturalisation

questions :

01. De quelle autorisation de séjour ai-je besoin si je suis citoyen de l'UE/AELE?

Les pays suivants sont considérés comme des pays de l'UE/AELE :

UE-17 : Allemagne, Autriche, Belgique, Chypre, Danemark, Espagne, Finlande, France, Grèce, Irlande, Islande, Italie, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malte, Norvège, Pays-Bas, Portugal, Suède

UE-8 : Estonie, Hongrie, Lettonie, Lituanie, Pologne, République tchèque, Slovaquie, Slovénie

UE-2 : Bulgarie, Roumanie

AELE : Principauté de Liechtenstein, Norvège, Islande, Suisse

Si vous êtes originaire d'un pays de l'UE-17/UE-8/AELE, vous pouvez séjourner en Suisse pendant trois mois sans autorisation. Vous pouvez également y travailler, mais vous devez l'annoncer. Vous trouverez la procédure d'annonce pour les activités lucratives de courte durée sur le site Site web du Secrétariat d'État aux migrations.
Si vous restez plus de trois mois en Suisse, vous devez vous annoncer auprès de votre commune de résidence et demander une autorisation de séjour. Pour cela, vous aurez besoin d'une carte d'identité valable, d'un contrat de travail, d'une copie du contrat de location et d'une photo d'identité.

Les citoyens de l'UE/AELE peuvent obtenir les autorisations de séjour suivantes :

Livret L UE/AELE (autorisation de séjour de courte durée) : L'autorisation de séjour de courte durée est valable pour les séjours d'une durée inférieure à une année. Si vous pouvez prouver que vous avez un emploi en Suisse d'une durée comprise entre trois mois et une année, vous recevrez une autorisation de séjour de courte durée pour une durée de validité équivalente à celle du contrat de travail. Cette autorisation peut être renouvelée après un an. Vous pouvez également obtenir un permis L si vous cherchez un emploi. Dans ce cas, vous n'avez pas droit à la sécurité sociale.

Livret B UE/AELE (autorisation de séjour) : Le permis B est valable cinq ans pour les citoyens de l'UE/AELE qui peuvent prouver qu'ils ont un emploi pour une durée indéterminée ou pour au moins un an. Le permis peut ensuite être prolongé de cinq ans si toutes les conditions sont remplies. Les personnes sans emploi peuvent obtenir une autorisation de séjour si elles disposent de moyens financiers suffisants et d'une assurance maladie et accident suffisante.

Livret C UE/AELE (autorisation d'établissement) : L'autorisation d'établissement est accordée après un séjour de cinq ou dix ans en Suisse. Ce droit de séjour est illimité et n'est soumis à aucune condition. Une autorisation d'établissement après cinq ans est normalement accordée aux ressortissants des pays de l'UE-17 (sauf Chypre et Malte) et des pays de l'AELE.

Livret Ci UE/AELE (autorisation de séjour avec activité professionnelle) : Cette autorisation de séjour concerne les conjoints de fonctionnaires d'organisations intergouvernementales et de membres de représentations étrangères ainsi que leurs enfants jusqu'à l'âge de 25 ans. Elle leur permet de séjourner en Suisse pendant la durée de l'engagement professionnel du membre de leur famille.

Livret G UE/AELE (autorisation frontalière) : Les frontaliers sont des personnes qui habitent dans la zone frontalière étrangère et qui travaillent dans la zone frontalière voisine de la Suisse. Si vous êtes originaire d'un des États de l'UE-25 ou de l'AELE, vous pouvez habiter n'importe où dans l'UE/AELE et travailler n'importe où en Suisse. Vous devez simplement retourner chaque semaine à votre lieu de résidence. Le livret G UE/AELE est valable cinq ans si votre contrat de travail est de durée indéterminée ou supérieure à un an. Si votre contrat de travail est valable moins d'un an, la durée de validité de l'autorisation frontalière est déterminée par le contrat de travail.

Si vous avez une Prolongation La demande peut être déposée auprès de la commune de résidence au plus tôt trois mois et au plus tard deux semaines avant l'expiration de l'autorisation de séjour.

Vous pouvez obtenir des informations sur les autorisations de séjour UE/AELE ici. Dans le canton d'Obwald, c'est le département Migration qui est compétent :

Département Migration
Office du travail d'Obwald
4, rue Saint-Antoine
6061 Sarnen
Téléphone : 041 666 66 70
Télécopieur : 041 666 66 75
Courrier électronique : migration(at)ow.ch
Horaires d'ouverture : Lu-Ve 08.00-11.45 et 13.30 à 17.00

Pour plus d'informations sur les permis de séjour, voir ici.
Ici vous trouverez la demande de séjour pour les personnes sans activité lucrative originaires d'un pays de l'UE/AELE.

02. Welche Aufenthaltsbewilligung benötige ich als Bürgerin oder Bürger eines Drittstaats?

Livret L (autorisation de séjour de courte durée)L'autorisation de séjour de courte durée est valable pour les séjours d'une durée de moins d'un an. Si vous pouvez prouver que vous avez un emploi en Suisse d'une durée comprise entre trois mois et un an, vous recevrez une autorisation de séjour de courte durée pour une période de validité équivalente à celle du contrat de travail. Le Conseil fédéral a toutefois fixé un nombre maximal annuel d'autorisations de séjour de courte durée pour les ressortissants de pays tiers.

Livret B (autorisation de séjour)Cette autorisation de séjour est délivrée aux ressortissants d'Etats tiers qui séjournent durablement en Suisse dans un but précis, avec ou sans activité lucrative. Le permis B pour les ressortissants d'Etats tiers est délivré pour la première fois à un an est limitée dans le temps. Il existe des limites annuelles à l'octroi de ce permis. Toutefois, les permis B délivrés une fois sont normalement renouvelés chaque année, à moins que des raisons ne s'opposent à leur renouvellement.

Livret C (autorisation d'établissement): L'autorisation d'établissement pour les ressortissants de pays tiers est généralement accordée après un séjour de dix ans en Suisse est accordé. Ce droit de séjour est illimité et n'est soumis à aucune condition.

Livret Ci (autorisation de séjour avec activité lucrative)Cette autorisation de séjour concerne les conjoints de fonctionnaires d'organisations intergouvernementales et de membres de représentations étrangères ainsi que leurs enfants jusqu'à l'âge de 25 ans. Elle leur permet de séjourner en Suisse pendant la durée de l'engagement professionnel du membre de leur famille.

Le département Migration est compétent pour les autorisations de séjour dans le canton d'Obwald :

Département Migration
Office du travail d'Obwald
4, rue Saint-Antoine
6061 Sarnen
Téléphone : 041 666 66 70
Télécopieur : 041 666 66 75
Courrier électronique : migration(at)ow.ch
Horaires d'ouverture : Lu-Ve 08.00-11.45 et 13.30 à 17.00

Pour plus d'informations sur les permis de séjour, voir ici.
Ici vous trouverez la demande de séjour pour les personnes sans activité lucrative originaires de pays tiers.

03. Quels sont les permis de séjour disponibles pour les demandeurs d'asile et les réfugiés?.

Livret F (étrangers admis provisoirement)Un permis F est délivré aux personnes qui ont été renvoyées de Suisse, mais dont le renvoi s'est avéré illicite (violation du droit international public), inexigible (en raison d'une mise en danger concrète de la personne) ou impossible (pour des raisons techniques d'exécution). Le permis est valable 12 mois et peut être prolongé de 12 mois en 12 mois par le canton de séjour. Les autorités cantonales peuvent délivrer aux personnes admises à titre provisoire une autorisation d'exercer une activité lucrative.

Livret N (demandeurs d'asile)Les personnes qui ont déposé une demande d'asile en Suisse et qui font l'objet d'une procédure d'asile reçoivent un livret N. Pendant la procédure d'asile, elles ont en principe un droit de présence en Suisse. Dans certaines circonstances, elles peuvent être autorisées à exercer une activité salariée.

Livret S (personnes à protéger)Ce permis autorise un séjour provisoire en Suisse, mais pas le passage de la frontière ni le retour en Suisse. Si les personnes titulaires d'un permis S prennent un emploi ou changent d'emploi, elles doivent demander une autorisation à cet effet. Elles doivent présenter spontanément ce permis à l'autorité cantonale compétente deux semaines avant l'expiration de sa durée de validité. Tout changement d'adresse doit être signalé à l'autorité compétente dans les huit jours. Cette carte ne constitue pas une preuve de l'identité du/de la titulaire.

Les réfugiés reconnus obtiennent soit l'asile et donc une autorisation de séjour (permis B), soit ils sont admis provisoirement en tant que réfugiés reconnus et reçoivent un permis F (réfugié admis provisoirement). Les réfugiés reconnus, qu'ils soient titulaires d'un permis B ou d'un permis F, peuvent rester durablement en Suisse et y travailler.

Pour plus d'informations sur ces permis de séjour, veuillez contacter ici ou encore ici.
Vous pouvez obtenir un aperçu des catégories de séjour dans le domaine de l'asile ici.

04. Quels sont les membres de ma famille que je peux faire venir en Suisse si je suis originaire d'un pays de l'UE/AELE ? .

Si vous êtes citoyen de l'UE/AELE et que vous disposez d'un permis de séjour ou d'une autorisation de séjour de courte durée en Suisse, les membres suivants de votre famille peuvent venir s'installer en Suisse :

  • Conjoint(e) ou partenaire d'un partenariat enregistré.
  • les enfants et petits-enfants (y compris ceux du conjoint) jusqu'à l'âge de 21 ans. Les enfants et petits-enfants plus âgés peuvent vous rejoindre si vous êtes à leur charge.
  • les parents et les grands-parents (y compris ceux du conjoint ou de la conjointe), si vous êtes à leur charge


Si vous êtes en formation (école, études), vous ne pouvez faire venir en Suisse que votre conjoint(e) et vos enfants à charge.

Ici vous trouverez la demande de regroupement familial que vous devez remplir en cas de regroupement familial.

Plus d'informations sur le thème du regroupement familial ici.

05. Welche Familienangehörigen darf ich in die Schweiz holen, wenn ich Bürgerin oder Bürger eines Drittstaates bin?

Drittstaatsangehörige mit einer Niederlassungsbewilligung für die Schweiz (Ausweis C):

  • Conjoint(e)
  • Partenaire en partenariat enregistré
  • Enfants jusqu'à 18 ans

Ressortissants de pays tiers titulaires d'une autorisation de séjour (permis B) :

  • pas de droit au regroupement familial
  • mais peut être autorisé si les conditions du regroupement familial sont remplies (pour plus de détails, voir question 6)

Pour plus d'informations sur le regroupement familial, veuillez contacter ici.

06. quelles sont les conditions à remplir pour faire venir les membres de ma famille en Suisse?

Pour que vous puissiez faire venir les membres de votre famille en Suisse, les conditions suivantes doivent être remplies :

  • Votre Appartement doit être raisonnable. Elle doit donc correspondre aux conditions habituelles du lieu et être suffisamment grande pour accueillir toute la famille.
  • Si vous êtes salarié(e), votre situation financière n'entre pas en ligne de compte. En revanche, si vous êtes indépendant ou sans activité professionnelle, vous devez pouvoir prouver que vous êtes financièrement en mesure de subvenir à vos besoins. Entretien des membres de la famille.
  • Si vous êtes ressortissant d'un pays tiers, vous devez être en mesure de prouver que votre séjour consolidé ist. Dies bedeutet, dass Sie angemessen integriert und seit mindestens 12 Monaten erwerbstätig sein sollten.

Pour obtenir une autorisation de séjour, les membres de la famille que vous souhaitez faire venir en Suisse doivent, entre autres, remplir les conditions suivantes Documents peuvent présenter :

  • une carte d'identité ou un passeport en cours de validité,
  • un visa pour les personnes soumises à l'obligation de visa,
  • une confirmation de l'Etat d'origine concernant les liens de parenté avec le membre de la famille vivant déjà en Suisse,
  • une confirmation que l'entretien des membres de la famille bénéficiant du regroupement familial est assuré, si la personne vivant déjà en Suisse est tenue de subvenir aux besoins de ces membres de la famille,
  • Copie du contrat de location à Obwald

Pour plus d'informations, voir ici

Le site Demande pour le regroupement familial doit être remis dans le canton d'Obwald à la division Migration de l'Office du travail :

Département Migration
Office du travail d'Obwald
4, rue Saint-Antoine
6061 Sarnen
Téléphone : 041 666 66 70
Télécopieur : 041 666 66 75
E-mail : migration(at)ow.ch
Horaires d'ouverture : Lu-Ve 08.00-11.45 et 13.30 à 17.00.

Le site Inscription après l'arrivée en Suisse se fait en se présentant personnellement à la commune de résidence.

07. Qu'est-ce qu'une carte d'identité biométrique pour étrangers ? .

Le titre de séjour biométrique pour étrangers est une carte d'identité au format carte de crédit. Deux empreintes digitales numériques et l'image du visage sont enregistrées sur une puce invisible dans le livret.

Les personnes suivantes reçoivent un livret pour étrangers biométrique lorsque leur ancien livret doit être renouvelé en raison de l'expiration de sa durée de validité ou de modifications des données :

  • les ressortissants de pays tiers,
  • Membres de la famille de citoyens suisses originaires d'un pays tiers,
  • Membres de la famille de ressortissants de l'UE/AELE originaires de pays tiers,
  • les ressortissants d'États qui sont certes membres de l'UE, mais qui ne sont pas parties à l'ALCP (accord sur la libre circulation des personnes).

Une carte d'identité biométrique est délivrée pour les catégories de titres de séjour pour étrangers suivantes :

  • Autorisation de séjour de courte durée (L)
  • Permis de séjour (B)
  • Permis d'établissement (C)

Vous pouvez obtenir des informations sur le livret pour étrangers biométrique du Secrétariat d'État aux migrations ici.

Vous trouverez des informations sur d'autres documents de voyage pour les personnes étrangères sur le site ici.

fr_FRFR
Retour haut de page