04. what does federalism mean?

In Switzerland, the Federalism and the Subsidiarity to the basic principles of state policy. In simplified terms, this means first of all that the Confederation, the 26 cantons and the approximately 2,600 municipalities in Switzerland divide up public tasks among themselves, with the cantons being as independent as possible.

Federalism: The cantons in Switzerland have a high degree of autonomy. They have their own constitutions, parliaments (not in all cantons), governments, courts and police. One consequence of this is that there are a large number of different legal norms. Agreements among the cantons ensure that the Swiss economic area nevertheless functions well.

Thanks to this federal system, the interests of small groups and minorities are better protected. One disadvantage, however, is that the interaction between the federal government, cantons and municipalities can sometimes be very complex and time-consuming.

Subsidiarity: The important basic idea here is that the smaller structures (municipalities and cantons) are initially responsible for solving tasks. If the municipality cannot handle a task, the canton takes over responsibility. And for those tasks that even the canton alone cannot fulfill, the responsibility passes to the federal government. Examples of this are foreign policy, labor law, civil and criminal law, vocational training or national infrastructure.

en_USEN
Scroll to Top

In der Schweiz gehören der Föderalismus und die Subsidiarität zu den staatspolitischen Grundprinzipien. Vereinfacht formuliert meint dies zunächst: Der Bund, die 26 Kantone und die rund 2600 Gemeinden in der Schweiz teilen die öffentlichen Aufgaben untereinander auf, wobei die Kantone möglichst eigenständig sein sollen.

Föderalismus: Die Kantone in der Schweiz haben ein hohes Mass an Autonomie. Sie verfügen über eigene Verfassungen, über Parlamente (nicht in allen Kantonen), Regierungen, Gerichte und Polizei. Eine Folge davon ist, dass es eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Rechtsnormen gibt. Durch Absprachen unter den Kantonen wird dafür gesorgt, dass der Wirtschaftsraum Schweiz trotzdem gut funktioniert.

Dank diesem föderalistischen System sind die Interessen von kleinen Gruppen und Minderheiten besser geschützt. Ein Nachteil ist allerdings, dass das Zusammenspiel zwischen Bund, Kantonen und Gemeinden manchmal recht komplex und aufwändig ist.

Subsidiarität: Wichtiger Grundgedanke dabei ist, dass zunächst die kleineren Strukturen (Gemeinden und Kantone) für die Lösung von Aufgaben zuständig sind. Kann die Gemeinde eine Aufgabe nicht bewältigen, übernimmt der Kanton die Zuständigkeit. Und bei jenen Aufgaben, welche auch der Kanton allein nicht erfüllen kann, geht die Verantwortung an den Bund über. Beispiele dafür sind Aussenpolitik, Arbeitsrecht, Zivil- und Strafrecht, Berufsbildung oder nationale Infrastrukturen.

Scroll to Top