01. Which residence permit do I need if I am an EU/EFTA citizen?

The following countries are considered EU/EFTA countries:

EU-17: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden

EU-8: Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia

EU-2: Bulgaria, Romania

EFTA: Principality of Liechtenstein, Norway, Iceland, Switzerland

If you come from an EU-17/EU-8/EFTA country, you may stay in Switzerland for three months without a permit. You may also work here, but you must report this. The registration procedure for short-term employment can be found at the Website of the State Secretariat for Migration.
If you are staying in Switzerland for longer than three months, you must register with your municipality of residence and apply for a residence permit. For this you need a valid identity card, an employment contract, a copy of the rental contract and a passport photo.

The following residence permits are available for EU/EFTA citizens:

L EU/EFTA permit (short-term residence permit): The short stay permit is valid for stays of less than one year. If you can prove that you have a job in Switzerland lasting between three months and one year, you will receive a short-term residence permit for a period of validity corresponding to that of the employment contract. This can be renewed after one year. You can also obtain an L permit if you are looking for a job. However, you will not be entitled to social security.

Permit B EU/EFTA (residence permit): The B permit is valid for five years for EU/EFTA citizens who can prove that they have a job for an indefinite period or for at least one year. The permit can then be extended for another five years if all conditions are met. Persons without a job can obtain a residence permit if they have sufficient financial means and adequate health and accident insurance.

C EU/EFTA permit (permanent residence permit): The settlement permit is granted after a stay of five or ten years in Switzerland. This right of residence is unlimited and is not subject to any conditions. A settlement permit after five years is normally granted to persons from the EU-17 states (except Cyprus and Malta) and the EFTA states.

Identity card Ci EU/EFTA (residence permit with gainful employment): This residence permit concerns spouses of officials of intergovernmental organizations and of members of foreign representations and their children up to the age of 25. It allows them to stay in Switzerland for the duration of the family member's employment.

G EU/EFTA permit (cross-border commuter permit): Cross-border commuters are persons who live in the foreign border zone and work within the neighboring border zone of Switzerland. If you are from one of the EU-25 or EFTA countries, you can live anywhere in the EU/EFTA and work anywhere in Switzerland. You only have to return to your place of residence on a weekly basis. The G EU/EFTA permit is valid for five years, provided your employment contract is unlimited or valid for more than one year. If your employment contract is valid for less than one year, the period of validity of the cross-border commuter permit depends on the employment contract.

If you have a Extension of your residence permit, the application can be submitted to the municipality of residence at the earliest three months and at the latest two weeks before the expiry of the residence permit.

For information on EU/EFTA residence permits, please contact here. Responsible in the canton of Obwalden is the Migration Department:

Migration department
Office for Employment Obwalden
St. Antonistrasse 4
6061 Sarnen
Phone: 041 666 66 70
Fax: 041 666 66 75
Email: migration(at)ow.ch
Opening hours: Mon-Fri 08.00-11.45 and 13.30 to 17.00

You can find more information about residence permits here.
Here you will find the residence application for non-employed persons from EU/EFTA countries.

en_USEN
Scroll to Top

Als EU/EFTA-Staaten gelten die folgenden Länder:

EU-17: Belgien, Dänemark, Deutschland, Finnland, Frankreich, Griechenland, Irland, Island, Italien, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, Malta, Niederlande, Norwegen, Österreich, Portugal, Schweden, Spanien, Zypern

EU-8: Estland, Lettland, Litauen, Polen, Slowakei, Slowenien, Tschechische Republik, Ungarn

EU-2: Bulgarien, Rumänien

EFTA: Fürstentum Liechtenstein, Norwegen, Island

Wenn Sie aus einem EU-17/EU-8/EFTA-Land stammen, dürfen Sie sich während drei Monaten ohne Bewilligung in der Schweiz aufhalten. Sie dürfen hier auch arbeiten, müssen dies allerdings melden. Das Meldeverfahren für kurzfristige Erwerbstätigkeit finden Sie auf der Website des Staatssekretariats für Migration.
Wenn Sie länger als drei Monate in der Schweiz bleiben, müssen Sie sich bei Ihrer Wohngemeinde anmelden und eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung beantragen. Dafür brauchen Sie eine gültige Identitätskarte, einen Arbeitsvertrag, eine Kopie des Mietvertrages und ein Passfoto.

Für  EU/EFTA-Bürgerinnen und -Bürger gibt es folgende Aufenthaltsbewilligungen:

Ausweis L EU/EFTA (Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligung): Die Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligung gilt für Aufenthalte von der Dauer von weniger als einem Jahr. Wenn Sie eine Arbeitsstelle in der Schweiz von der Dauer zwischen drei Monaten und einem Jahr nachweisen können, erhalten Sie eine Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligung für eine Gültigkeitsdauer, welche jener des Arbeitsvertrags entspricht. Diese kann nach einem Jahr erneuert werden. Sie können einen Ausweis L ebenfalls erhalten, wenn Sie eine Arbeitsstelle suchen. Sie haben dann aber keinen Anspruch auf Sozialversicherung.

Ausweis B EU/EFTA (Aufenthaltsbewilligung): Der Ausweis B gilt für fünf Jahre für EU/EFTA-Bürgerinnen und –Bürger, welche eine Arbeitsstelle auf unbefristete Dauer oder für mindestens ein Jahr nachweisen können. Die Bewilligung kann danach um weitere fünf Jahre verlängert werden, falls alle Bedingungen dafür erfüllt werden. Personen ohne Arbeitsstelle können eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung erhalten, wenn sie über genügende finanzielle Mittel und eine ausreichende Kranken- und Unfallversicherung verfügen.

Ausweis C EU/EFTA (Niederlassungsbewilligung): Die Niederlassungsbewilligung wird nach einem Aufenthalt von fünf oder zehn Jahren in der Schweiz erteilt. Dieses Aufenthaltsrecht gilt unbeschränkt und ist nicht an Bedingungen geknüpft. Eine Niederlassungsbewilligung nach fünf Jahren erhalten im Normalfall Personen der EU-17-Staaten (ausser Zypern und Malta) und der EFTA-Staaten.

Ausweis Ci EU/EFTA (Aufenthaltsbewilligung mit Erwerbstätigkeit): Diese Aufenthaltsbewilligung betrifft Ehegatten von Beamten intergouvernementaler Organisationen und von Mitgliedern ausländischer Vertretungen und deren Kinder bis zum 25. Lebensjahr. Sie können sich damit während der Dauer des Arbeitseinsatzes des Familienangehörigen in der Schweiz aufhalten.

Ausweis G EU/EFTA (Grenzgängerbewilligung): Grenzgängerinnen und Grenzgänger sind Personen, die in der ausländischen Grenzzone wohnen und innerhalb der benachbarten Grenzzone der Schweiz arbeiten. Falls Sie aus einem der Staaten der EU-25 oder der EFTA stammen, können Sie überall in der EU/EFTA wohnen und überall in der Schweiz arbeiten. Sie müssen lediglich wöchentlich an Ihren Wohnort zurückkehren. Der Ausweis G EU/EFTA ist fünf Jahre gültig, sofern Ihr Arbeitsvertrag unbeschränkt oder länger als ein Jahr gültig ist. Gilt Ihr Arbeitsvertrag für weniger als ein Jahr, richtet sich die Gültigkeitsdauer der Grenzgängerbewilligung nach dem Arbeitsvertrag.

Falls Sie eine Verlängerung Ihrer Aufenthaltsbewilligung beantragen möchten, kann das Gesuch frühestens drei Monate und spätestens zwei Wochen vor Ablauf der Aufenthaltsbewilligung bei der Wohngemeinde eingereicht werden.

Informationen zu den EU/EFTA-Aufenthaltsbewilligungen erhalten Sie hier. Zuständig im Kanton Obwalden ist die Abteilung Migration:

Abteilung Migration
Amt für Arbeit Obwalden
St. Antonistrasse 4
6061 Sarnen
Telefon: 041 666 66 70
Telefax: 041 666 66 75
E-Mail: migration(at)ow.ch
Öffnungszeiten: Mo-Fr 08.00-11.45 und 13.30 bis 17.00

Weitere Informationen zu Aufenthaltsbewilligungen finden Sie hier.
Hier finden Sie das Aufenthaltsgesuch für Nichterwerbstätige aus EU/EFTA Staaten.

Scroll to Top